$1911

was donated
Designing a normal bracelet by BlargityBlar 13 years ago

I designed a normal pattern the other day on graph paper, but I don't know how to make it into an actual pattern. I get really confused about how to get the string to go where I want it to go even with the new generators. This is my first try at doing this. Are there any tips about how to make the pattern? I never knew how much work was needed to design a pattern. Kudos to designers out there!

RE: Designing a normal bracelet by Rissa 13 years ago

I can't say that I'm really experienced in developing own patterns.
I've only tried to figure out patterns from photos, and in that case it is already obvious that a pattern can be knotted.

I have some tips though that might help you figuring out if your pattern can be made.

Before you start make a copy or two of your design, you might do some errors and it might be harder to make a copy if you've already drawn in a lot of lines...

Depending on how many colors you use and how much of the pattern is background it can be hard or easy to figure your pattern out.

1. Start with one color that's visible. Draw in elements that are pretty obvious, like chevrons, diamonds and straight lines. Do this with all colors and all things that look obvious.

2. See if you can make a connection from the end of the first use of the first color to the start of the second use. For example if you've made a blue chevron, the next time you have to use blue is four rows below, try to make a direct connection. If you have to cross other colors it's fine (in that case one knot is already figured out), but it's not ok if you have to use the same line as another color. In that case cheating would be required.