$1911

was donated
How to read Name Pattern ( for a bracelet) by Caveladyb 2 years ago

Hey guys, im new to this whole craft. And I just wanted to start out by saying that all of you guys that are making these patterns are AMAZING!! But I was looking for a simple word pattern, couldnt find one and so went to the generator for the Name pattern... and one of the symbols in the pattern is an arrow point staight down... this is the first time ive seen this... could someone please help explain it? I know what the Fwd knot, Bwd knot, etc looks like lol

RE : How to read Name Pattern ( for a bracelet) by halokiwi 2 years ago

There is a technique for two colored alphas where one colour is your leading string and the second colour is your base strings. To make knots of the second colour, you make a knot with a base string onto the leading string. That's what the downwards arrows are. They're just regular f or b knots.

RE : How to read Name Pattern ( for a bracelet) by kleinevos (moderator) 2 years ago

To add to that: It’s always the opposite knot of the knots in the same row made with the leading string. So in a row of forward knots, the downward arrow is a backward knot with the base-string.

RE : How to read Name Pattern ( for a bracelet) by Caveladyb 2 years ago

awesome that yall so much! I understand now. Got another question. Probably a dumb one, but like I said im totally new to this. And I way over think things when I first start out, so it blocks me from being able to figure simple things out sometimes LOL If the 2 color pattern I have calls for 7 base strings ( red) and 1 string for the letters ( white) How so I cut those? I know you take the number of strings needed and divide that by 2 and that number is how many total strings you cut... so for me that number is 3.5.. so do I cut 3 full lengths and then the last one would be the length of the others folded in half??
I hope that makes sense. TIA yall <3