$1911

was donated
Designing an aztec bracelet by Chisa 5 years ago

Hi, people! This is my first time on the forum :) Greetings!!

This is not a 'help me' thread, but more for myself to have some record of what I'm doing. Maybe someone wants to do a similar project and this can be of help, or wants to share their opinion or tips, or what you think. Anyway, I have no idea what will I end up with, but I hope you enjoy my little project.

So, I'm making an ankle bracelet for my boyfriend, and he only asked for it to be 'wide', and to have on it his favourite color, prussian blue. But, by chance, I discovered he loves Xochicalco's Quetzalcoatl design and painted it in several places, so of course I want to use that for the bracelet :)
This is it:

As you can see, I like to make things hard for myself haha Anyway, I think it's a beautiful design and very fitting for a bracelet, so I began working on it.

For the moment, I made a couple drawings, I will try to upload them in another post since I'm no expert at forums and still don't know how to.

Ah yeah, I have till Easter to do this, it will be fun I suppose haha

RE: Designing an aztec bracelet by Chisa 5 years ago

I figured out how to upload them I think. This is my very first try to make it into a bracelet design:

As I was doing it, I realised that would be an alpha design. So I tried a diagonal one but then kind of abandoned it. I very much prefer diagonal patterns, but I think that designing one with Quetzacoatl on it would be way to complicated for me. This is what I had when I left it:

So I decided for alpha. I opened Photoshop and did this (colors are secondary for the moment):

I'm very happy with the result, but then I realised it's over 50 strings wide... oops...
So I simplified it:

This time is 37 dots wide, so I think it's 37 strings plus the one making the background, no? And a little border each side, too